Saucy!

So you all know I’ve been getting weekly deliveries from Kretschmann Farms for my CSA right?  Well this week we were blessed with 10 beautiful tomatoes, 3 zucchini, a huge bunch of basil and parsley, and much more.  The timing could not have been better.  I’m a huge fan of The Kind Life and earlier in the week Alicia posted a recipe for vegan bolognese sauce.   I could not wait to make my own version, and so I did yesterday.  Let me just say OMG this is the best sauce I’ve ever tasted.  I did not follow her recipe exactly and I would encourage you to experiment as well.  For those of you that aren’t big on getting all your veggies every day, this is the recipe for you.  The sauce has a tomato base of course, but is filled with carrots, zucchini, eggplant, onion, wine and more.  I used seitan in place of the tempeh because that’s what I had in the house.  My mom loved it, Aaron loved it and I’m sure the dogs would have too if I was willing to share it with them, which I’m not.  I finished it by using my stick blender to puree everything to a nice smooth texture.  I added the seitan last (after blending) so that it gave the sauce the illusion of having “meat” in it.  I made a large batch, so I will get 5 dinners out of it.  I filled 3 quart zip top freezer bags and froze it for future use.  I hope you try this yourselves and share the outcome.  Trust me this is pure veggie goodness!

1 Comment

  1. Vicki said,

    August 4, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    That sounds and looks absolutely delicious!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

