Seven days + 251 miles = Fitbloggin’11

Is anyone else having a problem with time going too fast?  It feels like only yesterday when I arrived in Baltimore for Fitbloggin’10.  I was extremely nervous and had no idea what to expect, but luckily I had Vicki with me and we conquered our anxiety together.  I met so many interesting women and I have no doubt I will meet many more this year. 

As I left Baltimore last year I vowed to be at my goal weight when I returned in 2011, but that was not meant to be.  No worries though.  I haven’t given up.  I’m still making better choices than I was 2 years ago and that is progress.  I haven’t gained any weight back in almost 18 months which is a major accomplishment for me.  My entire adult life has been an up and down battle with my weight, but I finally understand that food is fuel and not a reward.  I know that if I want to have a beer and a slice of pizza I can, but I can’t make that a daily habit. 

So what have I done since Fitbloggin’10?  Here’s what…

  1. I joined a gym and have logged at least three days a week in the gym.
  2. I hired a personal trainer and have actual muscle definition and strength.
  3. I ran my first official 5k in 41 minutes and crossed the home plate finish line at PNC Park .
  4. I went on a cruise and wore a swimsuit in public.  I even hiked through the rain forest in Belize and went 4 wheeling in Mexico.

I may not be at my goal weight YET, but I’m getting there and I’m not letting my weight prevent me from doing things anymore! 

4 Comments

  1. May 12, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    I’m excited to meet you at FitBloggin’. Everyone’s journey is different and everyone is in a different place in their own journey. Sounds like you’ve had a great year.

  2. Linda Devlin said,

    May 12, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    woo hoo like when you blog :-)

  3. Jenn (GH) said,

    May 15, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    I’m going to Fitbloggin too. (I’m doing my best to check out as many blogs as possible b4…whew…there are a lot!) Sounds to me like you are making some awesome progress and you have many reasons to be proud goal weight or not. Maybe I’ll be one of those “interesting” women you meet this year. :-)

  4. Natasha said,

    May 17, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Great work, Carrie! You hit the nail on the head — it is better to have conquered your MIND than to have reached your goal weight. Yo-yo dieting is a sign of not having mastered your mind and because you’re having those “ah-hah!” moments, you’re setting yourself up for LONG-TERM success. Keep going, girl. So proud of you for sticking it through, being positive, and having realistic expectations. Now go have fun at Fitbloggin’!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

