Sunday’s Reflection & Inspiration

To me there is no better time than early Sunday morning, when the house is quiet and everyone is still sleeping, to reflect on your blessings.  The past week has been difficult, in many ways, but I’m a better person for it.  The most important thing I learned this week is that I can remain calm when faced with adversity.  What would I gain from losing control of my emotions?

Many times I have interrupted someone or not fully listened to what others were saying when I felt as though I was being judged or critiqued. I think that is just human nature.  I wonder how many times I shut down the conversation rather than trying to understand someone else’s assessment.  This whole journey to wellness started as a weight loss mission, but has become so much more.  Being skinny might make me happy at the store trying on clothes, but that’s only a momentary happiness.  After almost a year of losing weight, my wellness journey has become one of not only physical wellness, but emotional and spiritual wellness.  I still have weight to lose, but I also have a lot of “baggage” to deal with too. 

So today I’m making a commitment to myself to forgive.  To forgive myself and forgive others.  Life is too short to carry around hurt and anger for too long.  I’ll find the good in every situation and learn from that good.  I’ll smile at others and not roll my eyes when I’m starting to get that threatened feeling and hopefully, feeling that smile on my face will trigger me to look for the good.

So what commitment will you make to yourselves today?

5 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    March 28, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    That’s a great start to a Sunday morning and one that gives me a lot to think about! Thanks, Carrie!! Makes me want to take myself up on that “one day, I’ll REALLY start to work on meditation” promise…thanks!

    • March 29, 2010 at 3:53 pm

      Meditation is on my list of things to explore this year. I’ve always said I just can’t shut down long enough to rest. I really believe meditation will help me with that.

  2. Linda said,

    March 28, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    How awesome to be able to share with others that which is often not even admitted to oneself. I am so proud of your accomplisments. I, too, join you on your journey. While our experiences may be different it’s nice to share this with you. You have been such an inspiration. Thanks :-). I am enjoying this road to wellness even if the healing process of self truths can be overwheming at times. I look forward to achieving the goals I have set! You’ve come a long way and I’m proud to have you as a friend!!!!

    • March 29, 2010 at 4:07 pm

      Linda you are an amazing woman and I’m glad to be your friend and have you as my friend. Our lives took different paths for a while and I’m so glad that we have been able to get on this path together. You have provided me with such wonderful support and guidance.

  3. alex said,

    April 12, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    looks good


Leave a Reply

