Friday’s Goal Challenge – Sign Up and Win

According to BusinessDictionary.com a goal is a dream with a deadline.  It is an observable and measurable end result having one or more objectives to be achieved within a more or less fixed timeframe. 

My goal was to have lost 70 pounds by April 1st.  I did not meet that goal, but I did lose 40, so I still see that as an accomplishment.  I guess it is time to set some more goals.  In the beginning I had set many small goals and that really seemed to work for me.  As the weight came off I stopped setting the small goals and just focused on the end result.  That didn’t really work for me.  I left myself too much room for error.  I lost focus.

So I’m starting with some small goals again with my long-term goal of reaching my goal weight by August 1st.  That’s 30 pounds in 4 months and I KNOW I can do that.  Fridays are going to be my day to declare my new weekly goals and state my progress on ones I’ve already set.  Who’s with me?  Why don’t we each declare 2 weekly goals every Friday and announce our progress as well.  I’ll keep a spreadsheet of all who join me and the person that successfully completes the most weekly goals will get a free subscription to Natural Health, Women’s Health, Shape or Fitness (one of your choice).  This is my way of saying thank you for joining me in this challenge and supporting me.  You have until 8am every Saturday to submit your goals and post your progress. 

Goals should be submitted in the comments sections by stating your first name & last initial or name if you want, and 2 goals keeping in mind that your goals must state your objective and be measurable.  It has to be specific and something you can track.    The goals should be different each week so that we start incorporating more and more healthy habits into our lifestyles.  We are going on the honor system here as I have no way of policing the situation.  Good Luck to everyone and thank you for helping me on this journey.

“Goals that are not written down are just wishes.” – unknown

April 2nd Goals – Carrie L.
1.  Burn 500 calories per gym session 4 times this week (I wear a heart rate monitor when exercising)
2.  Eat less than 1600 calories every day this week (I track my daily intake on http://www.myfooddiary.com)

8 Comments

  1. Linda Devlin said,

    April 2, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Goal #1: to stay within my point system (weight watchers) of 24 points a day.

    Goal #2: to burn 3500 calories in the next week. I use the Nike system for this and my sportsband will track this for me.

    My long term goal is to loose 35-40 pounds by September. I’ve lost about 55 since September when Madison was born.

    This is a great site Carrie!!!!!

  2. Julie Grassi said,

    April 2, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    #1 Continue with a Vegetarian Diet through this entire week.
    #2 Lose 2lbs!

  3. Ami said,

    April 2, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    Hi Carrie! Thanks for joining my Active April Challenge. I’ll happily join in on your challenge, too!

    My April 2 goals are:

    1. Get at least 30 minutes of cardio 5 of 7 days.
    2. Practice yoga at least 2 times this week for 30 minutes or more.

  4. Ami said,

    April 2, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Just realized I accidentally subscribed to posts instead of comments so just ignore this. I’m subscribing to comments now. 🙂

  5. April 9, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    […] Wellness) Tags: exercise, Fitness, goals Well, it is Friday morning and I must update you on my week #1 goals and ask that you hit up the comments with your status.    My first week goals are going to […]

  6. Vicki said,

    April 9, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    My goals for April are to do 100 push ups per day and to walk at least 10,000 steps each day. I started the push up challenge on Monday and I’ve stuck with it all week. I do 100 modified (“girl”) push ups throughout the day. By the end of April my goal is to do 100 of them consecutively.

    I will start Monday with the 10,0000 steps per day. I will measure my steps with my Weight Watchers pedometer.

    Stick with it, everyone. We can do it!


Leave a Reply

