38 Days Until I Rock Cleveland

Tuesdays are going to be my “Track Talk” posts.  I can hardly believe I have another 5k in just a little over a month.  Wait, what am I saying?  I can hardly believe I am writing a blog post about running.  More accurately stated, about me running.  I’m shocked and amazed to be writing about my own personal experiences running.  There, that’s better.

I’ve been a long time hater of running.  My ex was a distance runner, but I liked to think of him as  a running addict.  In fact, I had thought about starting a support group for spouses of running addicts.  No one was more surprised than me when I woke up one morning in December and decided that I too wanted to be a running addict.  Soon after I declared my desire to my co-workers one of them said “there are lots of people your age that run the Great Race, you should train for that”.  WHAT YOU SAY MY AGE?!?!?!?!  I’m only 39 dude.

I eventually learned that 2 more of my co-workers were training for the Cleveland Marathon in May.   How inspiring.  I quickly checked the web-site for details so I could plan a trip to Cleveland and show my support.  To my surprise they were also registering people for a 5k that weekend.  “I can do that” I said to myself and I registered.  The weekend of May 14th not only am I running in a 5k, but I get to show my support and admiration for two very inspiring friends.

Are you a runner?  Do you want to be a runner?  Let’s spend Tuesdays sharing our running stories to help inspire each other to keep it up.  Please loyal readers share you comments.  I need to feel the love! 

Happy Trails!

5 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    April 6, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    you are really inspiring! i have to say, i am kinda happy that we aren’t running in the pgh race for the cure the weekend before you run in cleveland…that course is awful–happy to be walking it with you! that is, if i ever set up the team, you say, right? i’ll do that today. promise!

    i ran in college when i was on the rowing team because i had to–i was the coxswain–the person who sat in the front of the boat and told everyone what to do, but i still had to work out with the team which included running at 5am…ick! since then, i did a fair amount of running-avoidance–blamed it on my asthma, etc. last year, ran my first 5k–the royal family 5k in disney as part of the princess half marathon. ran another for a friend’s memorial ovarian cancer event last summer–that was hilly and probably not half as bad as pgh would be. still, i said i’d run with you and if you change your mind and don’t care about being in the last corral, i’ll run in pgh. 🙂 gonna run the princess half marathon next march! have a training plan and everything! are you running in the great race? i’ll do that!

    • April 6, 2010 at 1:07 pm

      Thanks for the comments Jen. I’m glad we aren’t running the Race for the Cure either, but very happy to be walking with you too! I am planning on registering for The Great Race and would love a partner. I’m excited now. : ) Let me know when you get the team set up. I’ve already purchased FYB t-shirts for my co-workers that are walking with me. Hey..maybe I’ll do the FYB page for my next website shoutout. I think I will. Oh, should we make dinner at Luciano’s the night before The Race a tradition too?

      • Jen said,

        April 8, 2010 at 10:00 pm

        we could carb load @ lucianos if that works for you. or how about tillies?

      • April 9, 2010 at 12:13 pm

        I’ve never been to tillies so let’s do something new. Hmmmm did you get the team set up yet Jen?

  2. Jen said,

    April 9, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    yay! i just did…sorry for the delay…life is passing me by this week…gotta work on those goals, right??


Leave a Reply

