I think I just had a real ah-ha moment

Wednesdays are always just a blah day for me.  I have no idea why, but I find nothing exciting about the middle of the week.   I also hate going to the dentist, so I usually schedule my appointments for Wednesdays.  I know it’s a bit weird, but why ruin another perfectly good day if I already don’t enjoy Wednesdays.  Hey, it makes sense to me.

So I start my day a little later than normal because my appointment is at 8 and I normally have to be at the office by 7:30.  I’m thinking this is going to be just another ordinary trip to the dentist and then it happens.  The hygienist asks me if I have always been this thin.  Wait, what?  I am not thin by any stretch of the imagination people.  I still have 30 pounds to lose, but I ask her to repeat her comment and what do you know, I heard her correctly the first time.  I told her that I’ve lost a little over 40 pounds in the past 7 months and she is amazed and continues to tell me how great I look.  I’ve only seen this particular girl 3 times before so I’m wondering if she even really remembers me and then she pulls out the picture from my initial visit and confirms that she was in fact remembering me.

So why is this an ah ha moment?  Well, I’ve been struggling lately to regain control of my eating and exercise habits.  I really wanted to be at my goal weight by now and I’m not.  I’m tired of having to resist the temptation of all the junk food in the house, I’m tired of explaining why I’m making time for the gym, and so on.  I was about to just be happy with what I’ve lost so far and call it a day.  Thank you Kelly from Dr. Maslo’s office.  You made me realize that what I’ve done is a great thing, but what I can do is going to be even better.  I can’t wait to go back in 6 months and see what they have to say then when I’m finally down to my goal weight! 

I don’t know if this experience will change my attitude about Wednesdays or the dentist, but it sure has changed my attitude about my weight and fitness goals.   It helps that today I stepped on the scale and was finally under 190 lbs too.

Have you received motivation and affirmation in an unexpected place or situation?  You know I’d love to read about it.

2 Comments

  1. julie said,

    April 14, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    Watch Jessica Simpson’s Price Of Beauty. It’s On Demand. Very Ah-Ha! Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and taught by the country you live in!

  2. Vicki said,

    April 15, 2010 at 11:22 am

    Wow – what a GREAT Wednesday you had! That is a real pick-me-up for sure. I bet you left the dentist office with a smile on your face for the first time! We are losing weight and getting fit for ourselves, but it feels good to get some outside recognition. It’s like getting a gold star on your homework. GO girl!

    I’m glad a visit to the dentist was enough to get you back in the right frame of mind.


Leave a Reply

