Healthy Living with a cold…how do you do it?

I’m a bit confused this morning.  I’ve got one heck of a cold going.  How in the heck did I get sick.  I’m eating more veggies than I ever have.  I’m guessing my body is adjusting to the change and that my immune system was a bit off given the new diet.  I was insanely busy with work and home stuff last week too.  They say stress is the worst for your immune system right?  On top of all that, I only exercised one day last week.  I need step it up because my scale is no longer my friend. 

I know this journey will have hills and valleys, but I’d like to have a decent period of smooth sailing.  Will this be the week?  I was certainly hoping so and then I got smacked in the face with this silly cold.  My throat hurts so bad and nothing seems to be helping.  I’m trying to avoid OTC meds and just fight this with nature, but I don’t know how much more I can take.  I’m a big baby when it comes to throat pain.  I can handle a stuffy nose or stomach issues, but I’d rather walk on hot broken glass than suffer a sore throat.

I’m equipped with hot tea and hot soup for lunch, so hopefully that will help.  I’ve taken my multi-vitamin and my Immune Defense from GNC (which I neglected to take Saturday and Sunday so maybe that contributed to my weakened immune defenses).   What do you do when you are suffering from a cold?  Should I try to exercise tonight or should I rest?  Could really use your suggestions today.

4 Comments

  1. Linda Devlin said,

    April 26, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    Hey girl,
    Sorry to hear you are sick. When you feel this bad it’s best to give your body the rest it is demanding of you. The gym should wait until you are feeling better. The tea and soup are good. Lots of fluid and rest are the key. Ricola is a must for me when my throat hurts. Other than that there is not too much you can do. I sure hope you feel better soon. Oh yeah, decreasing stress is paramount to everything in life so hope that improves for you too. Take care of you. 🙂

  2. Jen said,

    April 26, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    have you ever tried a neti pot to help with your congestion? i tried one for the first time a few months ago and now i am hooked! it is great! hope you feel better soon!

    i’m with linda on the fluids…hot tea for a sore throat…or even just hot water with lemon. take care!

    • April 26, 2010 at 3:51 pm

      Thanks to you both for the well wishes. I’ve been switching between hot tea and water all morning to stay hydrated. I’m having Thai noodle soup for lunch so hopefully the spices will make me sweat it out. LOL I’ve not tried the neti pot, but I do use saline everyday. I’ll have to check out the neti pot. Thanks for the tips ladies.

  3. Julie Grassi said,

    April 26, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    I’m sorry to hear your sick! I swear by Airbroune and the Netti Pot. It does work way better than just saline, I have a very god article on how to use it, if anyone would like a copy. I’m hooked on the Cure All Tea in The Kind Diet. I noticed feeling like I was coming down with a cold about 2wks ago, about a wk into the diet, I think I was detoxing, maybe you are, too?


Leave a Reply

