Sowing a new seed?

I would be the first to tell anyone that would listen to me that I’m the worst gardener there is.  My gardening experiences have been nothing like Rabbit’s.  I hate weeding and getting dirt under my fingernails and the bugs.  I’m getting the heeby jeebies just thinking about it.  Something has made me want to try this gardening thing again.  Actually, many things have made me start thinking about this again.  I guess if I’m going vegan I should do my part and plant a garden.  Nothing fancy at first, just some herbs and maybe a salad garden.  A couple of years ago we planted tomatoes, peppers and herbs and they took over the gardens.  I’m sure if I had paid attention and trimmed and weeded on a regular basis I would not have gotten so overwhelmed in the end.    Let’s face it folks, two years ago I was lazy and ready to pull out one of the 25 take-out menus before I would pull out a pot to cook dinner.  So much has changed.

I’ve been sick the past couple of days and had a lot of time at home to think about this.  I’ve done my research and I’m ready to prep my gardens.  We have 3 small gardens along the garage wall that would be perfect for some lettuce and small tomatoes.  I have one garden that continues to grow mint and oregano every year.  I guess I’ll get that one prepped for some additional herbage as well.  Yesterday I spent some time researching how to start a garden and this weekend I will be weeding out the beds and adding some organic compost.  Did you know that you are supposed to let the bed “rest” for 3 weeks and watch it to see what, if any, weeds pop up.  The key is to get the weeds out as you see them so hopefully within 3 weeks you will have removed all the weeds.  Wish me luck.

So anyone have any suggestions on lettuce varieties that are somewhat easy to grow?  What are your favorite herbs to grow?  Any and all suggestions are welcome.

1 Comment

  1. vvanarsdale said,

    April 29, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Hi Carrie,

    I’m so happy to hear you’re going to start a garden! I look forward to reading your updates on here. Gardening is not only a great way to eat healthy and get some exercise, but it’s therapeutic as well.

    Growing up we always had a garden. My parents grew a lot of vegetables: green beans, red leaf lettuce, scallions, yellow and green squash, peppers, tomatoes, radishes, jalapenos… we even tried potatoes, corn and strawberries. We had lovely flower gardens too. Now that I’m a city girl I really long for a real yard and a real garden. I tried to grow tomatoes and peppers in pots but with no luck. The squirrels ate them.

    I have had good luck with herbs though! One good basil plant can grow ALL summer! I’ve also grown chives and cilantro. Will do it again this year.

    For me, there’s nothing like a home-grown Jersey tomato. Nothing even comes close. I can’t wait for summer so I can go home and stock up!


Leave a Reply

