Another Week In Review

Week #2 of the veggie lifestyle is behind me and I must say I’m loving the food.  I didn’t do vegan week #2, but I still found myself avoiding dairy products when possible.  I had multiple dining out experiences with co-workers and family and feel that I made the best possible choices.  I got the black bean tacos at Moe’s with no cheese or sour cream.  I ordered oatmeal with an english muffin at First Watch and got the Boca Burger at BW3.  I even think my mom and Aaron are getting better about cooking their own dinners.  So what else did I eat this week?  One night I made a Mexican “pizza” with a whole wheat tortilla with mashed avocado as the sauce and topped it with Veggie Shreds cheddar cheese.  The next night I made a meal for everyone which consisted of whole wheat pasta with chopped tomatoes, garlic, basil and onion. (salad of fresh veggies on the side)  I love me some pizza, so I used the leftover sauce the next night and made an Italian tortilla pizza with Veggie Shreds mozzarella and mushrooms.  Oh, the best part is we had a friend over on Saturday and my hubby made a nice flank steak for everyone else and I had 2 large portobello caps for myself.  We had grilled asparagus and a nice big baked potato.  It was nice to see that we can still entertain without any stress surrounding what I eat.

Unfortunately I spent most of the week suffering from a bad head/chest cold.  I couldn’t go to the gym and I missed 2 days of work.    I don’t like being sick and the timing was bad.  Of course everyone thinks my vegetarian diet is weakening my immune system and that’s why I got sick, but there are plenty of meat eaters at work that are sick too.

My skin is looking better and I’ve lost 4 pounds.  I’m hoping that my overall sense of wellness improves once I get this cold out of my system.  My digestive tract seems to finally be adjusting to the increase in fiber and beans, if ya know what I mean. 

Overall I’m giving myself 3.5 out of 5 stars for the week.  I could have done better with my food intake and exercise, but I did lose some weight and have a much deeper appreciation for all life has to offer.  So look out for next week’s review because I have book group on Friday, pre-race dinner on Saturday and then the very important Pittsburgh Komen Race for the Cure on Sunday.    If you haven’t yet sponsored my walk, feel free to do so today. 

http://race.pittsburghraceforthecure.org/site/TR/Race/General?px=1610044&pg=personal&fr_id=1100

2 Comments

  1. Linda Devlin said,

    May 4, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    How awesome! Great job girl :-). Where are you meeting Jen and her family on Sunday and what time? We are planning to participate. Are you walking or running?

    • May 4, 2010 at 5:07 pm

      Still working on the details for Sunday but we are walking for sure. Too hilly to run. I’ll get the details from jen and let you know. Can’t wait to see ya.


Leave a Reply

