The Importance of Keeping a Food Diary

weight graphSo this graph represents my daily weights since the beginning of April and as you can see I’ve lost a whopping 1 pound after this weekend.   I’ve only logged my food 14 out of 40 days, not even 50% of the time.  This is bad.  I could make all sorts of excuses, but I won’t.  I need to do better.  I want to show 100% completion in the next 30 days.  The positive in this is that it appears I’ve learned how to maintain my weight, but that’s not my goal at the moment.  My goal is to lose another 25 pounds by 8/15 and that’s just a little more than 3 months away.  I’m getting tired of reaching for my goal weight.  I want to know what it feels like to be my goal weight.

I’m still going strong on the vegetarian front.  No actual meat eaten for 3 weeks.  I have had dairy and a few baked goods that I’m sure included eggs, so I need to get that under control.  I purchased The New Vegetarian Epicure over the weekend and I’m enjoying reading the recipes and menus.  I just need to get to the store so I can actually make them.  One of my co-workers (also vegetarian) brought me a vegan carrot cake today and I can not wait to try it.  Thank you CJ!!!!!!!  I’m still amazed at the variety of food available to me as a vegetarian and the wholesome goodness of it.

My Cleveland 5k is this Saturday and I’m hoping to run the entire thing in under 40 minutes.  If I have to walk, so be it, but I’m going to be pushing myself hard to run it all.  I’m looking forward to supporting my friends Kristin and Pam in their Cleveland Half Marathon on Sunday.  Go Girls!

Yesterday we walked the Race for the Cure 5k here in Pittsburgh.  The weather was so cold, but we were brave and finished the walk in 65 minutes.  Not bad considering there were 30,000+ people walking with us.  There were some very slow going moments, but what an inspirational moment in my life.  I’ve been walking this for 10 years now and each year I’m more amazed at the number of survivors walking.  When will we find a cure and a way to prevent this suffering?

How was your weekend?  Did you manage to stay active and eat well?

1 Comment

  1. Linda Devlin said,

    May 10, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    Howdy!
    I want to say that I enjoyed the walk yesterday! I felt it was a good experience for my children as well. We had quite a few talks about why we were walking. I was amazed I was able to carry my 20+ lb baby for about 95% of the walk but I sure do hurt today. Anyway, I digress, back to the goals.
    I fell short on my goals last week: I failed to have my daily workout (2 out of 7 days), lost 2lbs which made me happy, but I did not have any me time. I did get my treadmill though!!!! I love it too!!!! I plan on using it daily for 50 minutes. I also want to plan 30 minutes of me time. I will try these goals again. Otherwise, I am loving the beautiful sun and hoping it warms up a little.
    It was great seeing friends yesterday, even if for a short time. I still want to get more social time set. I hope you have a great week!!!!! Take care 🙂


Leave a Reply

