The Cleveland Experience…yes it’s almost here!

I’ve been talking about this weekend for months.  I can’t believe it’s almost here.  In less than 48 hours I will have completed my first official 5k.  Yes I know I ran with Vicki at Fitbloggin, but that was an unofficial fun run.  This is a real live actual race with water stations and everything!  I must say I’m a bit nervous, but in a good way.  I think my nerves will push me to do my very best. 

So tonight I will run my last pre-race training session, pack my bags and make sure I have all my running equipment ready to go.    I’m so glad this race is the day before the Cleveland Marathon and 1/2 Marathon.  There’s a huge running expo at the convention center tomorrow and Saturday.  I really want to talk with some of the vendors about proper fitting shoes.  The New Balance 740s I got in Baltimore are great and I just picked up a pair of Asics last week that I’m breaking in.  So far so good.  Sadly, I haven’t found a pair of Nike shoes that are comfortable to me when I’m running.  This sucks because I love my Nike+ and I haven’t figured out how to use it in other shoes.  Hopefully there will be a Nike booth so I can talk to a rep about their shoes.

Are you sitting down?  You should.  My hubby actually mentioned that he was going to run with me on Saturday.  I almost drove off the road last night when he mentioned it.  My excitement was very short-lived though as he changed his mind within five minutes.  Oh well, it was good while it lasted.   So instead of running he has agreed to video tape my start and finish for your viewing pleasure.  What a nice guy!

After this weekend I should be able to check two items off on my goals.  5 pounds lost and 5k completed. 

Wish me luck and check back for updates this weekend.  Happy Running!

2 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    May 13, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    Good luck, Carrie!! I am sure it’ll be great!! Have fun!

  2. Linda Devlin said,

    May 14, 2010 at 1:25 am

    You’ll do great! Enjoy yourself 🙂


Leave a Reply

