Cleveland or Bust? I busted : (

I’ve been dreading this post, but I must get it over with.  I did not get to Cleveland for the 5k.  I won’t bore you with the details, but I woke up Friday morning with a mad stomach virus and quickly became dehydrated.  We made it to the OH line but had to turn around and come home after I almost fainted at the rest stop.  Doctor’s orders were to follow the B.R.A.T. diet for 48 hours and rest.  I’m still suffering a bit today and I’m back on the B.R.A.T. diet, but I hope to be back in the gym by the end of the week.  So the positive in all of this is that I ended up at the doctor today and he was very impressed with my weight loss, lower blood pressure and resting heart rate.  It was the first doctor visit in too many years that I wasn’t being told to lose some weight.  Obviously I still have more to lose, but he is pleased with my pace and is confident that I’ll be able to maintain this lifestyle. 

So now I must search for another 5k.  My friend Jen invited me to her communities 5k on May 28th, but it’s a midnight race and my newly married sis will be coming home with her new family for the weekend, so I won’t be able to do that one.

If anyone knows of any 5k races in the PA, MD, DE, OH area this summer please let me know.

2 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    May 18, 2010 at 11:46 am

    We also do a memorial 5k every year for my friend, Clarabeth, she lost her battle to ovarian cancer…her daughter Stephanie–who I’ve become friends with runs it. It is in August…I’ll send you the link on FB. Also planning to do the Royal Family 5k in Disney on Feb 26th and hopefully the Disney Princess 1/2 Marathon on Feb 27th…wanna join?

    • May 18, 2010 at 12:08 pm

      Florida in February sounds great. Not sure about the 1/2 marathon, but def the 5k. I will let you know about August because we leave for vacation on 8/28, but if it is earlier in the month then I’m in.


Leave a Reply

