Garden Update

The 3 week resting period is over and since I ended up at home this weekend I decided to plant my garden.  Now remember, I wasn’t planning anything over the top.  Just a nice herb garden and some tomatoes and lettuce plants.  We headed out to the local Home Depot yesterday morning and ended up spending $260.  Our purchase included a rose-bush, 2 zucchini plant, 6 banana pepper plants, 2 tomato plants, sweet onion bulbs, various herbs, a wheel barrel, garbage cans, plant food, soil, etc.  Were we done there?  Of course not.  We couldn’t find any lettuce plants so we continued south to Janoski’s Farms where my mom purchased another rose-bush, marigolds, dahlia’s, various other flowers and finally I found lettuce.  I purchased romaine, green leaf and red leaf varieties.  I could see Aaron starting to worry about who was planting all of this stuff. 

We got home and I immediately went to work planting my vegetable garden.  That was the easy work.  I had already prepped those gardens, so while I planted my garden, Aaron  weeded the rose garden and mom planted her butterfly garden.  It was a whole day of shopping and gardening in the warm spring weather.  It was great fun with the family and I’m so excited to have some home grown veggies to munch on this year.

Here is a slide show of our work.  How did you spend your weekend?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    May 18, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Carrie-

    Your photos are wonderful! Congrats on the garden!! For me, it is so exciting to go out every day and check how things are going–I mean growing!! I enjoy it so much and am really glad I finally planted a garden this year. Thanks to you for your inspiration!! Hope all grows beautifully for you!! Enjoy, Jen

  2. Vicki said,

    June 7, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    Your garden looks lovely! How’s it going?

    I finally planted some herbs in pots a week ago, but something already tried to eat one of the basil plants. Grrrr….


Leave a Reply

