Where does the time go?

It’s just about 10 pm on Sunday night and I’m not ready for the weekend to be over.  Why are there so many things to do on Saturday and Sunday and never enough time to get them done?  All in all this was a crap weekend.  Lots of personal issues yesterday which meant cramming all of the chores into Sunday.  Don’t you hate when that happens?  The weekend wasn’t a total loss.  I organized my spare room/office and my closet.  I bought myself some “lucky” bamboo hoping to change my luck for a while.  A few weeks ago I purchased the book “Beginning Mindfulness”, but have yet to start week 1 of meditation practice.  The house is very quiet tonight and my office is somewhat organized, so I think I’ll take 5 or 10 minutes tonight before bed to relax and meditate.  I’m going to try to set 10pm as my meditation routine each night.  Aaron will be getting up at 3:30 each morning this week so I may also try to take 5 minutes in the mornings as well.

My health issues all seem to have gone away, so I’m looking forward to some serious gym time this week.  My goal is to get in a workout Monday, Wednesday and Friday this week.  I’d like to increase my gym time from 60 to 90 minutes to mix in some strength training with my cardio.  Friday is the last day of our Biggest Loser mini challenge.  I’d like to be down a total of 8 pounds.

I’ve complete the 4th week of my vegetarian journey and I’m really not craving meat for the most part.  It’s actually helped me conquer most of my sweet cravings as well.  I’ve tried tons of protein alternatives and I’ve really enjoyed them all.  Well, that’s not true.  I was not a fan of the meatless hotdogs the other night.  The texture was off.  Maybe I’ll have to try another brand.

My other goal this week is to catch up on my magazine reading.  I’m soooooo far behind.  I’ve got to try to get through one a night somehow.

So how was your weekend?  Anyone else feel like they are trying to cram a months worth of stuff into 2 days?  How do you manage your time on the weekends and still feel like you’ve had a chance to rest?

3 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    May 24, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    Ugh, I know how you feel…Saturday was great–got a lot done, but just in the kitchen…it’s clean and shiny, but the rest of the place? Not to mention the weeds that are overtaking our beds outside…the rain has not helped this, but it has helped my little garden and that is happy! 🙂 We spent Sunday shopping for something for John to wear to our cousin’s bar mitzvah next weekend–John’s lost 40 pounds recently, so nothing fit (happy for him!)…so, that killed everyone’s day on Sunday and we were totally unmotivated when we finally got back home. Next weekend will be crazy with family in town and events 3 days in a row, so I will be running nonstop after work to get all I need to completed at home…

    Not sure if this will help, Carrie, but I have an app that I use for meditation on my iPhone. It is called Meditate-Meditation Timer. It was probably $1.99 or something. It lets you set your preparation time, your meditation interval and a cool down time. I like the chimes at the end to bring you out of your meditation.

    • May 24, 2010 at 8:21 pm

      Oh I’m going to check out that ap. I was thinking about that last night. I don’t want to me shocked out of meditation by my alarm and was wondering what else I could use.

      Holiday weeks are always stressful. My sister is coming in this week so we have lots to finish up at the house to prepare for company.

      Please don’t get me started on weeds. I swear I spend my weekends weeding. We even put landscape paper down this year and they are managing to come back.

  2. Vicki said,

    June 7, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    I am struggling too — I feel there’s not enough hours in the day to get everything done. I’m finally catching up on some blog posts and coupon clipping because I’m at the car shop while my car is getting serviced. They offer free internet, so I am multi-tasking. I just got a Palm Pre so as soon as I learn all it can do I am hoping to be even more organized and able to get more done.


Leave a Reply

