My life as a vegetarian – monthly update

I wasn’t sure if this would be a permanent change, but now that I have a month under my belt I’m sure it will.  I don’t know that I will ever make the change to vegan, but I’m doing okay without meat of any kind including eggs.  Let me clarify that to say that I am not eating eggs by themselves, but I have still had baked goods, on occasion, made with eggs.  That’s going to be a little harder to give up, but I’m working on that.  Believe it or not I’m even starting to feel guilty using my favorite Coach bag.  (I hear your gasps!)  I gave up meat for health reasons, but I’m starting to understand the moral implications of purchasing animal products of any kind.

I thought my biggest challenge would be eating out.  I’ve been pleasantly surprised at the ease of ordering vegetarian meals at any restaurant.  People are so accommodating.    My husband is still mortified when I ask the staff to make sure my meal has absolutely no animal products in it.  He’ll live and hopefully get over it quickly.  I really thought I was going to have to seek out vegetarian restaurants if I wanted to dine out, but it’s been quite the opposite.  Last night I took Applebee’s to a friend in the hospital and was able to replace a veggie patty for any of their menu burgers.  It was quite tasty and a great burger fix.   I had lunch with my mom and Aaron on Saturday at P.F. Changs and had the Vegetarian Lettuce Wraps and the Coconut Curry Vegetables.  Both Aaron and my mom tried the veggie lettuce wraps and thought they had much more flavor than the chicken version.  I thought it was so cool that they were willing to give it a try.

This was amazing. I love curry but never had it with just veggies and the crispy tofu...it rocked!

I’ve been extremely good about keeping my food diary updated every day.  I’m pleased that I’m getting the right balance of fat, carbs, protein, vitamins, etc.  No nutritional worries for me.  I’ve started a new page on this blog with some of my favorite vegetarian recipes.  Have you checked it out?  Please email me your favorite veggie recipes and I’ll be happy to post them with props to you.

4 Comments

  1. wolfshowl said,

    May 25, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Congrats on going veggie! Like you, I originally went veggie 3 years ago for health reasons, but within a few months of reading vegetarian resources, it became for ethical reasons as well. I am currently slowly moving toward semi-vegan, where I will hopefully someday only cook vegan, but will be willing to eat dairy at other people’s homes/restaurants.
    Curry is also very good with chickpeas in lieu of tofu!

    • May 25, 2010 at 5:14 pm

      Thanks for your comments and for stoping by. I will need to try chickpeas the next time I make curry. I love chickpeas.

  2. Steve Murphy said,

    May 25, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    I have a vegan friend who has a heck of time finding food that meets her needs at restaurants. When it comes to eating out, I think the real jump in difficulty is going from vegetarian to vegan. Oh, and I also support the chickpea alternate made by wolfshowl.

    Cheers,

    Steve
    Energetic Healing

  3. May 28, 2010 at 9:20 am

    If I had a dollar for every time I came here.. Incredible post.


Leave a Reply

