The Great Race

You all know my goal of running a 5k in Cleveland never happened.  I was discouraged for about 5 seconds and then I got over it.  I know had my intestines not decided to ruin my weekend that I would have done it.  So I’m moving on.  Who needs a 5k when we have one of the greatest 10k races here in Pittsburgh!  Yes I’m talking about The Great Race to be held on Sunday, September 26th.

I officially registered today.  I’ve even downloaded a training program for beginners.  I know it’s early, but I start my training on Monday.  No time like the present.  It’s an 8 week training program and here are my workouts for week #1:

Monday – 20 minute easy run at 50-60% of my maximum heart rate

Tuesday – 30 minute easy run at 50-60% of my maximum heart rate

Thursday – 30 minute easy run at 50-60% of my maximum heart rate

Saturday – For today perform the workout in the following sequence: 10 minute walk, 35 minute easy run, 10 minute walk, 4 x 100 meter strides (run strong and relaxed for the 100 meters then jog for about 30 seconds, repeat 4 times)

So my question for you is who wants to train and run it with me?  I know Jen is already in, but who else?  Vicki this is the perfect time for you to come and visit!

3 Comments

  1. ulla said,

    May 27, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    you may want to check out this new book by runners world i found called RUN LESS RUN FASTER 😉 I just completed 2 5k’s and trainging for the George Washington Bridge challenge, but not enough time.

  2. Vicki said,

    June 7, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    I’m happy to hear you found a race close to home! Keep us all posted on your training. Not sure if I can make it this year, but I will let you know.
    Go Carrie!


Leave a Reply

