You mean there’s more to fitness than cardio?

Well I had my first session with the trainer yesterday at the gym.  I’m happy to report that I loved it.  The hour went so fast.  I arrived 45 minutes ahead of time to get in my cardio so I was a nice sweaty mess when she got there.  My heart rate was up and ready to go.  Yesterday she focused on my back, shoulders and calf muscles.  I used machines I didn’t even know existed.  I burned 730 calories in 90 minutes.  That’s a record for me.

Tomorrow we are going to work my biceps, triceps and quads.  I have very poor upper body strength so I should be hurting on Friday, but in a good way.   So what does that leave for Saturday?  Abs for sure, but there has to be something else.  Any thoughts?

Who knew there was so much more to do at the gym?  Well I knew, but who knew that I would actually enjoy it!  Here are some helpful tips on mixing up your fitness routines.

1.  Mix cardio training and weight training.
      Most fitness experts suggest exercising 5 days of the week. Three days of cardio with 2 days of weight training.

2.  Do not do more than 4 days of weight training in any week, as this does not give your body enough time to recover.

3.  In the beginning it is important to make sure you have enough strength for your weight training workout, so weight train on days you aren’t doing cardio.

4.  If you want to lose weight or trim some fat, you should mix cardio and weight training.   Alternate short spurts of high-intensity cardio with strength training.  I think you are all familiar with circuit training and Jillian Michaels!

So how do you mix up your work-outs?  Speak up people!

2 Comments

  1. vvanarsdale said,

    June 8, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    I’m so glad you like the workouts with your personal trainer. Sounds like it’s going great so far. How was week 2?Just as good?

    • June 8, 2010 at 6:08 pm

      I only paid for 3 sessions and they were all great. Now I get to do it on my own for a week and if I need her help again I pay $20/session. So far so good but man am I sore.


Leave a Reply

