CSA…what’s that you say?!

I had been anticipating my first CSA delivery for months and finally the day was upon me.  I could not wait to see what treasures were tucked in my crate from Kretschmann Farm.  I had my Moosewood Cookbook ready to go no matter what was in there.  So I left work armed with an address and several earth friendly bags.  Why don’t they put address markers on business?  Of course it didn’t help that the pick up location was a restaurant and had recently changed it’s name.  How was I to know that the City Grill used to be Azzerias!  My 5 minute drive ended up taking 20, but I was not disappointed.  My stomach did flips when I saw two pints of tiny little fresh strawberries.  It was all worth it!

In addition to the strawberries, there was rhubarb, green onions, radishes, spinach, mixed greens, romaine lettuce and red leaf lettuce.  In fact, I think I have enough lettuce for  quite some time.  Oh, I can’t forget the rosemary and thyme as well.  They also included a loaf of whole grain bread from a local bakery.  Aaron and I spent about an hour cleaning all the greens and bagging everything for the refrigerator.  It seemed like quite a bit of work, but isn’t it worth it to have fresh, local and organic produce? 

Now my mission was to figure out how to cook rhubarb.  I’m ashamed to say that until this weekend I had never tried it.  Luckily my Moosewood cookbook had a recipe for Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp.  Fresh fruit crisps are one of my favorite desserts and one of my favorite things to make.  Oh my what a delicious treat.  The tartness of the rhubarb goes perfect with the sweetness of the tiny strawberries.  YUMMO to quote Rachel Ray.  I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we did.

Check out the recipe page for this and many other tasty vegetarian treats.

2 Comments

  1. Jane said,

    June 8, 2010 at 2:01 am

    I am soooo glad that you had a good week 1! Our neighbor and CSA partner calls the spring deliveries the “high colonic days” on account of all the lettuces and greens. I can’t wait to get mine – two more weeks.

  2. Tammy McLeod said,

    June 8, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Love that Moosewood cookbook and while I don’t get strawberries or rhubarb in my own CSA delivery, it sounds great (may have to run to the store). I think Jane’s comment about the high colonic days is pretty funny.


Leave a Reply

