I fear a different kind of monster in my sleep…

I had a great food day yesterday.  I stuck to plan, I exercised, I avoided sugar and overeating and I even did 45 minutes of yoga before bed.  I actually went to bed feeling really proud of myself.  In the back of my mind though, I feared another visit from the night eating monster and I was right to fear that visit.  By 6am I had added 400 more calories to my day in the form of a cream cheese brownie, 2 cookies and 2 cups of skim milk.  It’s a little embarrassing, but I need to be honest with you and with myself.  For years I’ve had a problem with waking in the middle of the night to eat.  I wish I could say it was just once, but sometimes I wake up 3 or 4 times.  I don’t even feel hungry, but I know there is junk food in the house and in my sleepy state I don’t do a very good job of talking myself out of giving in.

It’s killing my progress, not to mention my desire to live a vegan lifestyle.  I wish it were as easy as eliminating these foods from my house, but as I’ve said before, I have housemates that should not have to suffer through my weaknesses.  I need to be stronger and find a way to keep myself out of the kitchen at night. 

Does anyone else have this problem.  Do you have any suggestions?  I’m declaring my goal this week to not eat after 10pm for the next 7 days.  Keep in mind, that I’m going to the midnight showing of Eclipse tomorrow so this is going to take much dedication.   So, who thinks I can do it!

1 Comment

  1. Vicki said,

    July 6, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Wow — I didn’t know you did this. I bet those last lbs will drop right off if you can find a way to combat the night eating. I don’t have any advice on this one, though. I hope you can do it! I know you can.


Leave a Reply

