Awesome by August and such…

I had my first weigh in today for the Awesome by August challenge.  I lost, but just a measly 1/2 pound.  Hey it’s a step in the right direction.  I’m anxious to see everyone else’s results and hope that it will be the kick in the rear that I need.  It’s just so amazing to me that there is this great big support community out there.  Some of them I may meet at blogging conventions and others I may never have the opportunity to see in person, but it helps to know that I’m not alone on this journey. 

I had a minor set back in the exercise and diet department this week.  Some day I will write a complete post on my struggle with PCOS, but not today.  Several years back I started getting facial acne cysts and the first two actually landed me in the hospital for 4 days each time on IV antibiotics.  That’s when they really focused on my PCOS and treating it.  I still developed the occasional cyst over the next few months, but once the meds really got those old hormones under control they basically stopped.  I was so happy to be rid of these ugly sores.  The dermatologist did say that I needed to be very diligent in washing my face and especially cleaning any sweat off my face as soon as possible. 

Why am I telling you this now.  You guessed it…THEY’RE BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wednesday morning I noticed a hard bump on my chin. I know better than to poke and push at them now but I knew it wasn’t going to be pretty by the end of the day.  Within 8 hours the tiny bump had morphed into a lump the size of a marble and hurt worse than I remembered.  I called the doctor and he immediately started me on Bactrim.  Well it’s 36 hours later and the bump is now the size of a pea so we are heading in the right direction.    I hope this is not the start of another round with these buggers.

Now I am afraid to sweat, which means I’m terrified of going to the gym.  This is not good.  I need the gym.  I need to exercise.  I guess I will just wait until the cyst has vanished and start working out again.  I’m just going to have to make sure I get the sweat off my face as quickly as possible after the workout. 

I’ve been pretty depressed about all this since it started on Wednesday and my healthy eating has been nonexistent.  It’s the exact opposite of what I should be doing.  I should be filling up with healthy foods loaded with vitamins, minerals and all that good stuff, but instead I wallow in my self-pity and eat Nutty Bars and Vienna Fingers. 

I thought this self loathing related eating was behind me.  I guess I wasn’t prepared for the embarrassment of walking around work with a zit the size of Australia on my chin.  I need to “woman” up and get over it.  There are far worse things that could be happening to my body.

I’m off to my sister’s for the weekend with my mom.  There will be more to follow on Monday.  Enjoy your weekend.

Leave a Reply

