33 days and counting

Well, if you read this blog occasionally, you know that I am taking my first cruise at the end of August.  You also know that my goal was to be in the normal weight range by this time.  Not going to happen my friends.  I haven’t been to the gym in 2 weeks and I’m making all the wrong food choices.   I don’t know how many times I can tell you that I’m going to start focusing right now, but here I am about to tell you that again. 

I wish I could be harder on myself, but I’ve accomplished quite a bit in the past 12 months.  I’ve lost 40 pounds, up until two weeks ago I was at the gym at least 3 days a week, if not 4 and I’m now a vegetarian.  So what’s my problem?  I wish I could tell you.  I’m just in a slump I guess.  Hopefully that will be changing tonight.

My mom and I set out for Weight Watchers on Saturday, but ended up in the Jenny Craig center instead.  We both have appointments at 6pm tonight for our initial consultation.  I know you are probably thinking “What the heck are you going to Jenny Craig for?”  I know I’ve lost 2/3 of the weight on my own, but I’ve stopped being diligent about portion size again.  I’ve been maintaining my weight for the past 3 months, so I know that I can do that.  I just need that little extra help to shed the last 20-25 pounds.  I’m not ashamed to admit I need more help than I can give myself.  I’m also really excited to be supporting my mom in her efforts and I think together we are going to accomplish great weight loss success.

My face has finally healed and I feel comfortable going to the gym and having a good sweat again.  I am considering switching from my small local gym to L.A. Fitness.  My mom has been looking for a gym with a pool and L.A. Fitness has one.  They also have many more cardio machines than my gym and a lot of other amenities for the same monthly fee I currently pay.  It’s a bit more of a drive than my current gym, but only by maybe 5-10 minutes.  They also have shower facilities which my gym does not have.

Hopefully this week will be one of wellness and progress.  I’m forced to set a new goal for my cruise and that is to lose 10 pounds before we leave.  If I am really good and can lose 15 pounds in the next 33 days I would be at a BMI of 24.4 which would get me out of the overweight category.

I am sorry for the silence this past week, but let’s hope I have some good news to report same time next week.

2 Comments

  1. Linda Devlin said,

    July 27, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    Good luck with your new quest. You are really an inspiration, even with set backs, so don’t be hard on yourself. Love the posts, still one of the only things I enjoy reading. Perhaps I will set the goal to read more. No more books on tape for me, lol. Have a great day.

  2. Vicki said,

    July 29, 2010 at 7:06 am

    You have accomplished A LOT so don’t be so hard on yourself. I wish you the best in your new weight-loss quest! I’m also super-excited that your cruise is almost here. You’re going to have a blast, no matter how much you weigh!


Leave a Reply

