What’s Up?

Not my weight!  I am happy to report that after one week on Jenny Craig I lost 4 pounds and I’m back at the gym.  Last week was definitely a week of change for me.  New eating plan, new gym and a new phone.  I was a busy girl.

I joined Jenny Craig about 15 years ago and lost a significant amount of weight while on the program, but then I moved and started a new job and started stress eating again.  I guess I was so focused on the ease of the prepackaged meals and not so much on how to monitor my own portions that I put all the weight AND MORE back on.  I really liked the food though, for the most part.  When my mom asked about Jenny Craig a couple of weeks ago I thought about it and figured why not.  I lost 40 pounds on my own, so I know I can control what I eat and how much of it.  This time I plan on using Jenny to get me through this plateau and then get back to preparing my own meals.  The thing I like least about Jenny Craig is the lack of vegetarian options.  Most of the breakfast meals are vegetarian, but they only have 4 lunches and 7 dinners, so I’ll be eating the same meals A LOT.  I don’t think I’ll be liking it too much after a month.  My lunch choices are mainly pizzas and my dinner choices are all pasta.  I think Jenny needs to get on board with the vegetarian lifestyle and create some meals focused on veggies and whole grains.

I’ve worked out at L.A. Fitness three times now.  I LOVE IT!  I can’t believe I’ve been missing out on this for the past year.  Who knew they had machines with fans on them.  Oh I still work up a sweat, but at least the air around me is circulating.  I had a free session with a personal trainer on Saturday and signed up for 2 sessions a week.  I start those on Tuesday of next week.  I expect to be pretty sore the first few weeks, but who cares right.  The downside is that it’s a new gym in a new strip mall so it’s packed most of the time.  Last night I couldn’t get a treadmill so I had to wait in line for an elliptical.  I only waited 5 minutes, but the fact that you can use the machines as long as you want means I could have been waiting a lot longer. 

Last week my iPhone fell from the end table onto the floor.  The right corner of the screen splintered even though I had a cover on it.  UGH!  I was due for an upgrade, but wasn’t sold on spending $200 on the iPhone 4, so I switch to the HTC Tilt 2.  It is nowhere near as easy to use as the iPhone, but it is supposed to have most of the same features once I can figure it out.  The best part is that it has a slide out keyboard for texting, which is primarily what I use it for anyway. I still need to figure out how to load twitter and google reader, but all in good time.

So that’s been my week.  I feel energized and focused on my goals again.  I want to make good progress before our cruise so I can keep up the momentum.  Speaking of cruise wait til you hear all of the great shore exclusions I have planned……

1 Comment

  1. Vicki said,

    August 4, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    That is GREAT news about your weight loss! I’m happy you’re busting out of your plateau. GO girl!

    Also great news about your personal trainer. That will help. I hear LA Fitness is a very nice gym.

    I can’t wait to hear about your cruise excursions. Do tell!


Leave a Reply

