My fun ship awaits

I promised to tell you about my cruise last week, but before I do that I wanted to let you know that I lost another 2 pounds as of yesterday.  Felt that was important to tell you since this blog is supposed to be about my healthy weight journey. (And I love getting your comments telling me how great I’m doing.  hint hint)

My cruise is fast approaching and I get that much more excited with each passing day.  I love hearing people’s stories about how they didn’t think they would like taking a cruise and were pleasantly surprised by how much they actually enjoyed it.  This is my first cruise and I’ve never really had the desire to take one, but I listened to Vicki’s stories about how she loved them and wanted to give it a try.  I booked the cruise back in February and since then I’ve obtained my passport, travelers cheques, bathing suits, sandles, flip flops, luggage, you name it…I’m prepared!  The most challenging task has been deciding on our shore excursions.  There are so many to choose from and then do you buy them through the cruise line or on your own.  I was quickly getting stressed over this.

Our cruise is a 7 day exotic Caribbean cruise.  Our itinerary is Tampa, day at sea, Grand Cayman, Cozumel, Isla Roatan, Belize, day at sea, Tampa.  Honestly, I’m most excited about Belize, but I’m looking forward to all the islands.  After much consideration and expense, we have decided on the following excursions:

Grand Cayman – Guided island tour by van with stops at 7 mile beach, West Bay, Turtle Farm, Tortuga and George Town.  (Rum cake…yum)

Cozumel – Mini Jeep (ATV) outing through the jungle over to the east side of the island to snorkel

Isla Roatan – Beach day and shopping

Belize – Under ground cave tubbing and walk through the jungle

The cave tubbing was my must do and the ATV deal was Aaron’s.   We tried to mindful of each other’s interest and split the adventure excursions with a couple of relaxing excursions too.  I think we made some great choices.  I need to research underwater camera’s next. 

Have you cruised before?  Any tips or advice for the first time cruisers?

3 Comments

  1. Linda Devlin said,

    August 10, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    Sounds awesome! Great job on your weight loss too! Went on ATV in Cozamel. It was fun but wish it wasn’t a guided tour, still was cool though. ENJOY 🙂

  2. Vicki said,

    August 12, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    First of all, I love the new look of your blog!

    Congrats on the weight loss. You are a fat-burning machine!

    Your excursions sound like a lot of fun! We did the bus tour in Grand Cayman and enjoyed it. I have a lot of funny pictures from the turtle farm. Then we tried some turtle soup afterward. Tastes like chicken! I actually felt bad after eating it — I like turtles!

    You can make healthy food choices at the buffets for breakfast and lunch, then enjoy a really good dinner. It’s nice to be waited on, too. Don’t forget to exercise at the nice gym. And bring comfortable walking shoes. Cruise ships are big – you’ll be doing a lot of walking.

    HAVE FUN! : )

  3. August 16, 2010 at 4:13 am

    […] My fun ship awaits | From Fit to Fat and Back Grand Cayman – Guided island tour by van with stops at 7 mile beach, West Bay, Turtle Farm, Tortuga and George Town. (Rum cake…yum). Cozumel – Mini Jeep (ATV) outing through the jungle over to the east side of the island to snorkel […]


Leave a Reply

