Taking Stock

I know, I’ve been away too long.  I’m sorry for my brief disappearance, but it was with good reason.  Unfortunately, they are very personal reasons and I’m not 100% comfortable broadcasting them on the World Wide Web.  Those of you that know me well, you know the issues and you have all been so wonderfully supportive.  That said, this was the perfect weekend for a visit from some very dear long-lost friends.  Sometimes timing really is everything.

 Faye & Ed arrived right after work on Friday and we had the best vegetarian Thai dinner at Sesame Inn.  Faye had Penang curry, Ed had Pad Thai and I had the Mussaman curry and my mom had Moo Shu Chicken.  (yes, I’m aware that chicken isn’t vegetarian, but I didn’t eat it)  If you are in the Pittsburgh area and you haven’t checked out Sesame Inn you really need to.  They have multiple locations and deliver if you are somewhat local, but this isn’t about them, it’s about the importance of family and friends.

I haven’t seen Faye and Ed for at least 8 years.  I don’t know how time passes so quickly or why we didn’t make an effort to get together sooner, life just takes you in so many directions.   Saturday was the perfect low-key day.  We drove to Harmony, PA and walked around the town square and just enjoyed the beautiful weather.  After we got back home we just sat and talked about so many things.  Eight years is a long time to catch up on.  Ed made the most wonderful vegetarian lentil soup for us that night.  We paired it with a nice loaf of crusty rustic bread.  It was the perfect dinner for a cool evening.

I was sad to see them leave on Sunday morning, but was looking forward to enjoying the day with my mom.  We did a little shopping and had a quick lunch.  I took mom to Aldi for the first time. It was just a great morning.  We both sat on the edge of our chairs watching the Steeler game.  What a nail biter that was.  It was nice to just take a weekend to relax and enjoy some really good conversation.   I didn’t stress eat or seek comfort in bad foods.  What a win for me.

How do you take stock in life when things have you feeling a little overwhelmed?

Ed’s Lentil Soup
(portions are approximate since he didn’t really let me do anything!)

Serves 4-6 depending on the size of the bowl.

1 cup green lentils
3 cups water (to cook lentils)
1 Tbls Earth Balance spread

Place the lentils in a sauce pot and cover with water.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 25 minutes or until almost tender.  Stir in the Earth Balance.  The lentils should absorb most of the water.   While the lentils are cooking prepare the vegetables as follows:

3 carrots – diced into ½ inch cubes
1 large onion – diced into ½ inch cubes
4 small potatoes – diced into ½ inch cubes
4 cups vegetable stock
1 cup water
1 Tbls coriander
1 Tbls Herbs de Provence
¼ Tsp Cayenne Pepper
Salt to Taste

Place the stock and herbs in a large soup pot and bring to a rapid boil.  Add all of the raw veggies and bring back to a boil.  Reduce heat to medium and cook until veggies are almost tender, about 20 minutes.  Add the lentils and simmer for another 15 minutes until everything is tender.  You may need to add a bit of water if the veggies and lentils absorb too much liquid.  This is going to depend on how you prefer your soup. It’s great as a stew or even as a more brothy soup.

2 Comments

  1. Vicki said,

    September 13, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    The soup sounds delicious! I will try it this fall for sure.

    When I get overwhelmed and stressed I tend to eat a little more than I should. I used to binge and eat a lot of unhealthy foods. At least now I make better food choices. I’m a little stressed today and waiting for 5pm so I can have a glass of red wine!

  2. Jen said,

    September 14, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    Hmmm…working on that taking stock now…i am completely overwhelmed right now. I guess I start to map things out on paper and see what has to stay and what can go. I also want to make sure what I would like to do falls in the plans somewhere.


Leave a Reply

