To cleanse or not to cleanse

I’ve been researching cleansing for what feels like an eternity and with each passing day I find myself more and more confused and uncomfortable.  I guess I was hoping that a change to a vegetarian diet would just naturally unclog the works, but alas, it was not so.  I believe this partly to be my fault.  I still have a difficult time avoiding dairy and in fact, I think I’m eating more dairy than ever.  As a result I have found my plumbing to be more screwed up than before.  After months of research, I decided to give this a go.  I walked over to my local GNC and forked over $25 for their Complete Body Cleanse product.  I started my cleanse on Friday morning, so I am officially 1/2 way through this 7 day program.   So far things seem to be getting a little more regular and I don’t have the back pain I’m used to having every morning.  The program includes the following four products: 

AM Formula
Each AM Formula packet contains a Gastro Formula, Total Cleanser and Enzyme Blend. This packet combines specialized herbs such as ginger, artichoke and pomegrante with fructooligosaccharides (FOS) to help promote intestinal health. It also provides digestive enzymes to help promote protein, carbohydrate and fat digestion.*PM Formula
Each PM Formula packet supplies a Blood Circulation Formula, Liver Cleanser, Kidney Health Formula and Enzyme Blend. This packet blends the popular herbs cayenne, goldenseal and milk thistle which supports liver function with antioxidant herbs such as green tea and grape seed extract. It too provides digestive enzymes that help promote digestion.* 

Probiotic – Acidophilus
Introduces beneficial probiotics, acidophilus and bifidobactrim. These organisms are important in promoting the health of the digestive tract.* They not only help maintain the health of the digestive tract but also have a direct influence on the balance of the body’s natural flora.* These beneficial flora also support healthy immune function and when taken on a regular basis, support overall digestive health.* 

Fiber and Prebiotic Blend Fiber is a necessary component of everyone’s diet. Among the many health benefits of fiber, it is most commonly recognized for its ability to aid in the digestion process.* Fiber plays a critical role in the intestinal transit time, it serves as a bulking agent and also provides relief from occasional constipation.* This specially formulated blend features multiple fibers that promote and support daily digestive health.* Unlike other fiber products that typically target the end of the colon, this fiber and prebiotic blend is site specific and provides fibers that work at the beginning, middle and end of the large intestines. By offering this diverse group of fibers, this patented formula helps to improve bowel cleansing without urgency or discomfort.

* These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

The rep at GNC said he does this cleanse every six months, but my hopes are to get my diet regulated so that I can do a more natural, food based cleanse every six months.  I’m currently reading Super Cleanse by Adina Niemerow and I’m finding that I could really get into some of her food based cleanses.  What cleanses have you tried?  Did you get the results you were looking for? 

10/5/2010 – Update 

I completed the 7 day program and I’m happy to report I had very few issues with the supplements.  I lost two pounds in the process, but that was not my goal.  I wanted to cleanse my system of the “junk” and start my 40th year off on the right foot.  Of course today I’m home with the stomach flu, but I don’t think it  has anything to do with the cleanse.  I definitely see me doing this cleanse twice a year. 

2 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    September 27, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    I did a three-day clean food cleanse this spring–after a lot of research. I think it was great and i felt great a few days later. No chemicals, no additives, no additional products–just clean food. Now, I really didn’t like everything I was eating, but I did okay–I hate peanut butter, but ate it because of the cleanse and the same with salmon. I didn’t want to deviate from the plan. Not sure it would help you, Carrie because you do eat turkey as well during the cleanse. Someone might want to take a look: http://life.gaiam.com/gaiam/p/3-Day-CleanFood-Detox-Plan.html I plan on doing it again next spring. Kind of my spring cleaning regimen.

  2. Vicki said,

    September 27, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    We tried something from GNC before and we’ve also tried some cleansing supplements from Vitamin Shoppe. Both were mild and we didn’t have any problems. I didn’t notice a drastic change in my digestive system. I get the same results by eating more fiber. I may try a different cleanse again after the holidays. I don’t like the fasting cleanses. I need to eat real food. Good luck with it. I look forward to reading about your results.


Leave a Reply

