Natural Cholesterol Management – Kardea

Several weeks ago I received a sample pack of Kardea Nutrition Bars.  The sample pack included Banana Walnut, Chai Spice, Cranberry Almond and Lemon Ginger.  The bars are vegetarian and two of them are even vegan.  I reviewed the ingredient list and nutritional facts and gave them a try.  The Lemon Ginger was my favorite, which is funny because I didn’t like the sound of the combination and saved it for last.  I love the fact that they use brown rice syrup as a sweetener rather than processed sugar.  The texture was very nice and they all tasted good.  I was actually surprised by this.  How many companies hit on all of their flavors?  I love Lara Bars, but some of the flavors are just way too sweet for me.

Three years ago I was diagnosed with high cholesterol and high triglycerides.  My numbers were not so high that I had to go on medication, but given my family history of heart disease I was determined to get back into healthy range.  I started exercising and adding more fiber to my diet.  I very carefully monitored my fat and cholesterol intake.  I lost 45 pounds and had the blood work done again after 18 months.  I am happy to report that my numbers are now in the healthy range and I am no longer considered obese.

I wish I had know about these bars 2 years ago.  It would have been great to incorporate these into my breakfast choices.  Oatmeal gets a bit old every day no matter how many things you add to it.  So what’s the science behind Kardea?  The following is taken from their website www.kardeanutrition.com:

Nutrition can play one of three roles in regards to cholesterol levels:

  1. Positive Nutrition actively reduces LDLs, VLDLs and triglycerides. It also can increase HDLs. Positive nutrients include plant sterols, viscous soluble fibers, good fats such as monounsaturated fats and Omega-3s, and niacin from nicotinic acid.
  2. Negative Nutrition actively raises LDLs and triglycerides, or decreases HDLs. Known negative nutrients are trans fat and saturated fat. A high level of processed carbohydrates also has been shown to negatively affect your HDL cholesterol levels.
  3. Neutral Nutrition neither positively nor negatively affects cholesterol levels.

At Kardea, we focus on developing natural foods and dietary supplements that provide meaningful levels of positive nutrients while minimizing the negative ones. We classify these nutrients in terms of level of scientific support.

Tier One nutrients are defined as those for which there is significant scientific agreement resulting in a broad consensus within the medical community. For cholesterol management, this consensus is embodied in the National Cholesterol Education Program (NCEP) “Treatment Panel III” of the National Institutes of Health.

How do these potential results compare with many of the cholesterol medications now being prescribed? According to the NCEP, “The amount of LDL cholesterol reduction compares well with many cholesterol lowering drugs.”

Participants in the NCEP include the American Heart Association, American College of Cardiology, American Dietetic Association, National Institutes of Health, Food & Drug Administration and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (Click here to view NCEP report “Lowering Your Cholesterol with TLC”).

Tier Two nutrients are based on strong and extensive scientific evidence, but the very broad consensus defined by the NCEP has not yet developed.

*Higher doses of niacin from nicotinic acid can raise HDLs by 35% while significantly lowering LDLs. Consult with your physician if considering these higher levels.

I want to thank Kardea for sending me the sample pack and I plan on ordering some more bars to incorporate into my diet.

This blog is a personal blog written and edited by me.  At times I do accept and keep free products, services, travel, event tickets, and other forms of compensation from companies and organizations.   The compensation received will never influence the content, topics or posts made in this blog.  I am not compensated to provide opinion on products, services, websites and various other topics. The views and opinions expressed on this blog are purely mine. Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer or provider.

Leave a Reply

