Tis the season?

Tis the season…..

I’ve never really liked that phrase. To me it’s always been an excuse for something.
Tis the season to:
• Gain weight
• Spend too much money
• Slack off at the gym
• Drink too much
• Blah blah blah

Okay, so I’m as guilty as the next person in doing a lot of these things, but it’s not okay for me to use the month between Thanksgiving and Christmas as an excuse to forget everything I’ve learned during the year.  I was starting to feel very depressed and bad about myself because I knew I was doing all those things.  Yuck!  I’m better than that.  So today I have decided to turn Tis the season around. 

Going forward Tis the season to:
• Be thankful for my many blessings
• Show kindness to the people I care about (and the people I don’t)
• Be good to myself (mind, body and spirit)
• Just Be…enjoy the moment

I haven’t written a blog entry in a long time. Mainly because I haven’t been very proud of myself.  I was feeling overwhelmed at work and it was carrying over into my personal life.  My eating was out of control and I wasn’t getting to the gym enough to offset my eating.  I gained four pounds. (EEK!)  I don’t want to say that I was unhappy with my life, but I was just unhappy. 

When I started my wellness journey it wasn’t about the scale, it was about my health.  I forgot that.  I became obsessed with the scale and would get so disgusted if the number didn’t go down each week.  I would go to my personal training sessions and panic if I felt the slightest bit out of breath.  Sometimes I would get so sick with panic I couldn’t finish a workout. 

What an idiot I was.  I don’t know when it clicked, but I realized I have a great support system to help me stay on track.  I know I joke about it, but I really do have the world’s most awesome personal trainer.  I’m not just another client for Leigh.  She has taken an interest in my personal goals and she pushes me.  I need that.  She’s been very perceptive about what is going to motivate me and keep me coming back to the gym.  So today…Leigh is one of my many blessings that I am thankful for. 

When is the last time you counted your blessings? What are you thankful for today?

Leave a Reply

