Happy 2011?

Hell yeah it’s going to be a happy 2011, not to mention a productive 2011.  I keep a fairly detailed daily calendar and the first week of every year I take a look back and reflect on the prior year.  It’s interesting to see how I change focus so frequently.  At the beginning of the year I was writing my exercise goals for the week and logging my daily caloric intake.  By May I was just tracking my weight and miles per week.  By August I was just charting my personal training appointments.  It was very eye-opening to see that my weight on 1/1/2010 was exactly the same as 1/1/2011.  Some people might read this and say “Congrats on maintaining”, but I’m not at my goal weight yet.  I need to lose, not maintain.  I guess what I need to take from the past year is that I have learned how to maintain.  In the past, I have lost weight and after about six months I have gained it all back and then some.  I am pledging to myself and to all of you that next year at this time I will be 40 pounds lighter!

2010 was a good year for me in many ways.  I reconnected with two childhood friends, I made a great new friend, I got over my fear of sweating and making a fool of myself and I made a big lifestyle change in becoming a vegetarian.   It was a year of healing in many respects and I could not have gotten through it without the strength of my family and friends.   I was able to put a lot of baggage away…permantly in 2010. 

What are my goals for 2011? 

1.  Most importantly I want to reach my fitness and weight goals.  I’m starting the year off right with 3 training sessions this week and tomorrow I weigh in with Leigh and take all my measurements.  We are wiping the slate clean and starting fresh.   I feel myself getting stronger with each session and I’m starting to see and feel muscle development.  This is really exciting to me.

2.  I want to start doing more outside.  Explore my home state and see all that PA has to offer. 

3.  LOG MY FOOD.  I did so much better with my weight loss when I did this. 

4.  Bring on the  joy!  Jen and I are going to do a long distance book club with a book her friend just published called Bring on the Joy.  I can’t wait to get started.

5.  Blog more!  I know this one makes all of you happy.  Hehehehe

What are your goals, intentions or resolutions?

2 Comments

  1. Linda Devlin said,

    January 4, 2011 at 2:02 am

    Sounds like life is treating you well! My goal is to get together with you in 2011! You’ve accomplished a lot. Keep it up. I love reading your blog too…..:-)


Leave a Reply

