Winter Blues

Here we are in February and I’m way off track again.  Luckily there was no weight gain in January, but there wasn’t any weight loss either.  I don’t know what is wrong with me.  It’s been almost two years since I started my weight loss and I’m still only at my half way goal.  BOO! 

For the past six months I’ve been struggling with bouts of depression and high stress at work and home.  I’ve lost all drive to focus on the positive aspects of life and healthy living.  I’ve sought comfort with my food choices only to end up being more depressed after eating.  It’s a vicious cycle.  I will admit that at times I have said “Who cares if I’m overweight and unhealthy?” I know that’s just me feeling sorry for myself and I know that I care.  I don’t want to be obese again and I don’t want to develop heart disease.  I deserve better than that.

I’ve stuck to my personal training routine, but I’ve gotten off track with my cardio.  I’m not running at all anymore.   Maybe a fitness goal would help get me going.  I dread the scale, but perhaps if I try this whole 5k thing again I’ll find the motivation I am lacking.  I just know I have to do something.

I want this to be my last “pity me” blog post! Scratch that, this will be my last pity me blog post.  Today I am taking back control of my life and I will not let stress or anxiety rule my choices.  Life is too short to waste it feeling sorry for myself.  I sorta miss the healthy and happy Carrie.

Leave a Reply

