Rerun

I had a breakthrough this weekend.  Lack of exercise = lack of lust for life.  I’ve been suffering from this nasty head/chest cold for two weeks and haven’t really had a good workout since the middle of January.  I was really hating life by Friday.  Leigh was over for a game of cards on Friday and asked if I wanted to workout with her on Saturday.  To be honest I woke up Saturday morning and  just wanted to stay in bed, but I didn’t. I got my rear to the gym.  I even convinced Aaron to tag along.  We did a sixty minute shoulder and triceps routine and then I did 20 minutes of cardio.  I should have been exhausted but I was full of energy.  I could immediately feel the difference in my state of mind.  BAZINGA!!!!!  I will not go that long without exercise ever again.  I usually always take Sunday as a rest day and with the Superbowl looming I decided to continue that routine, but I was right back at the gym on Monday and it felt so good to work out.  I was even inspired to start my 5k training again.

I downloaded the Couch to 5k iTunes ap and completed week 1/day 1. I tried Couch to 5k before, but never had much success trying to remember the training routine while I was at the gym.  The ap is great because I have it with me and it verbally guides my training.  Hooray!  Has anyone else used this ap or program before?  What is your favorite 5k training program?

PS….These are my favorite running shoes.  Seriously, it’s like running on clouds.

3 Comments

  1. Becky said,

    February 8, 2011 at 1:46 am

    Hey! Do you want to do the Pirates 5K on Saturday, April 6? I am running it and it will only be my first or second one by then. I am training too.

    • February 8, 2011 at 1:45 pm

      Hey Becky! I just checked out the site and I think I can do this…nope..I know I can. I might have to walk a little, but I’ll give it a try. I’ll register today. Let’s keep in touch with our training.

  2. Jane said,

    February 12, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    You can totally do it. I think I used a different couch to 5K program but it worked. I probably followed 75% of the schedule. Since I finished the program end of October, I am still at a steady 3 t0 3.5 miles and have dropped a minute off my per mile time without really trying. My goal is another minute off, and to stretch out to five miles slowly. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

