The Future’s So Bright….

It’s been an interesting week to say the least.  I got some less than desirable news at work which I thought would make my emotional eating even worse, but it did just the opposite.  I realize that what is happening at work is out of my control, but how I react is completely within my control.  Then I realized that I’ve been allowing things I can’t control to totally mess with my head for the past six months.  I’ve been making some really poor food choices lately and that is something I can completely control. 

 I’ve said it before, but I hate restricting myself to “diet food”, so I won’t.  I’ve spent the past two years logging my food with various online diaries and, as of late, not had much success.  Counting every calorie is boring and I’ve found myself eating the wrong kinds of foods too often as a result.  I joined Weight Watchers yesterday.  I know it’s still logging food, but it’s forcing me to really consider what types of foods I am eating.  The points plus system doesn’t factor in calories, it factors in protein, fiber, carbs and fat.  I’m still reading into the science of this, but I feel like I need to give it a try.  It’s something I can begin to control.  I clearly have a problematic relationship with food and I’m hopeful this tool will give me the skills I need to establish healthier eating habits.

 I was talking to a co-worker today who is also affected by this upcoming change.  He too has chosen to embrace this as an opportunity rather than a set back.  At some point you just have to let go of what you can’t control and focus on the positive things in your life.  My weight and fitness is something that is on the way to becoming a positive thing for me and something I am going to control.  I really believe if we seek out happiness and find gratitude that we will be healthier for that….and who doesn’t want to be healthier?

 How do you deal with set backs at work and home?  Is there someone or something that inspires you to be a better you?

2 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    February 11, 2011 at 11:44 am

    Carrie-

    I admire you! “At some point, you just have to let go og what you can’t control and focus on the positive things in your life.” how very timely and inspiring! Yep, you always inspire me. 🙂

    I’ve had a horrendous week-started my regisnation letter last night with full support of and encouragement from John. Another inspiring person in my life, my coworker and friend, Monik, encouraged me not to react rashly, and I think I am going to try and take that advice along with yours and let it go. I’m definitely still heading out that door, just not today…getting myself together and once I have that plan, I am moving on. That not to say I won’t carry that letter around for peace of mind.

    It’s great to know that I don’t have to let the negativity and stress that is my work control my life. I have MANY wonderful things in my world and work does not define who I am. Already had somewhat of a plan for the beginning of summer-think I am going to speed it up a bit. Thanks for your reaffirming words (even though you had no idea about our somewhat parallel experiences). Love and light being sent your way!

  2. February 23, 2011 at 1:50 am

    I am also impressed. Letting things out of my control get to me is a big problem. On the diet front, let me offer up something that is helping me. I don’t eat anything extra until I have had at least 3 veggies and 2 fruits. Right now I’d love some ice cream but I am down a veggie so I know I need to eat a salad first. And I know that when I’m done, I won’t want the ice cream anymore. So instead I’m sitting and commenting on blogs–definatley calorie saving;-)


Leave a Reply

