Troublesome Tuesday Tips – Weekends

Weekends have always been a weak spot for me and eating healthy. It never matters how diligent I am Monday to Friday, the weekends just set me back. I had a really great weight loss of -3 pounds from Monday – Friday of last week and by the next Monday I was back at my starting weight from the week before. I can not tell you how tired I am of losing the same stupid 3-5 pounds each week. There has to be a better way.

I told you I joined Weight Watchers last week so I’ve decided to take 5 minutes each day to read one of their online articles. Last night I did a search on weekends and stumbled on an article with tips and tricks to a successful weekend. Here is what I discovered I am doing wrong:

– I don’t exercise first thing in the morning on the weekends. I have every intention of getting to the gym, but the day gets started and before I know it I am out of time.

– I don’t plan ahead. I’m a very spontaneous person on the weekends so I usually end up eating on the run and making poor choices because I’m hungry.

– I enjoy a few too many adult beverages

Here are my strategies for next weekend and every weekend after that:

– Get to the gym before 10am on Saturday. Sunday will continue to be my rest day. Perhaps if I get to the gym before I start my day I won’t be as tempted to ruin my progress by making bad food choices.

– Keep a bag of healthy snack food in my purse at all times. Whole grain crackers, a protein bar, a banana or freeze-dried fruit.

– I just need to limit my drinks and realize they are a significant amount of points. My plan here is to start with a glass of water if I have to go to happy hour. If I start with water and take my time I may end up getting out of happy hour without actually having a drink. I will also avoid the mixed drinks with fruit juice which are loaded with sugars.

What are your tips and tricks for staying on track over the weekend?

4 Comments

  1. Tammy McLeod said,

    February 21, 2011 at 12:14 am

    Great post Carrie. I have the same issue. I lose the same 2 or 3 pounds every week. Arrgh! I did exercise much more than usual this weekend but I did indulge in the adult beverages.

  2. Natasha said,

    February 25, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    You’re bang-on with your goal to cut back on the alcoholic drinks! They really are a total drain on your efforts to lose weight. I think I’m finally realizing how incredibly hard it is to burn that extra 200 calories (hello 30 minutes of running — ugh!) and how easy it is to consume said 200 calories in a nano second. In the end, it just doesn’t seem worth it!

    Good on you for acknowledging what is going to be most effective for your weekends…I look forward to seeing you make it happen! Your entire Saturday will feel SO much better once you do it!

    By the way, my favourite post-gym snack (and a must have in my purse for those spastic hungry moments) are Lara Bars…they are the only energy bar that doesn’t pack a ton of sweeteners and crap while giving you a hefty dose of carbs/protein to sustain you. Some of them have as few as 3 ingredients! My fave is Peanut Butter Cookie which only has dates, peanuts and salt in them. Who knew the two combined could taste so yummy!?!

  3. February 28, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    Thanks ladies. My weekends have been much better lately. I’m staying away from restaurants as much as possible and reading old cookbooks to find new recipes. I made a grea low fat version of stuffed shells this weekend with cottage cheese/ricotta mixed mushrooms and spinach. Everyone loved them, even better than the full fat version.

    @Natasha…love Lara Bars. My favorite is Cherry Pie. They are great in that they are all natural, but a whopping 6 points on WW so I need to make sure I have enough activity to use them as my after gym snack.

    • Natasha said,

      February 28, 2011 at 6:00 pm

      I believe it — they’re dense little suckers packed with a punch!


Leave a Reply

