Track Talk

I might have shared this with you before, but my ex-husband was a runner and for the 12 years that we were together I could not figure out his fascination with running.  I guess I’m still not completely clear on that, but I’m getting closer to understanding.  Believe me, I don’t wake up in the morning thinking “Man I can’t wait to run”, but once I’m into my slow jog, I feel a sense of pride that I’m doing it.

It’s still too cold for me to run outside, so I’m jogging on the treadmill, but I’m outside in my mind and I don’t focus on anything but breathing and the movement.  Yesterday I finished the 4th week of the Couch to 5K program.   The first four weeks mix jogging with walking as you gradually increase your jogging time.  Yesterday I jogged for 8 minutes, walked for 2 minutes and jogged again for 8 minutes.  My pace is very slow at 15 minute miles, but that’s ok with me.  My heart rate is still in the optimal zone and there is no point in killing myself right. 

Week 5 is coming up and the schedule includes:

Day 1 – alternate 5 minute jogs with 3 minute walks for 30 minutes

Day 2 – alternate 8 minute jogs with 5 minute walks for 30 minutes

Day 3 – jog for 20 minutes with no walking

There are just 37 days until the 5K at PNC Park.  I’m excited.  It may take me 45 minutes, but crossing that finish line on home plate is going to be amazing!  Let’s just hope the weather warms up so I can get some outside running time before April 9th.

2 Comments

  1. Tammy McLeod said,

    April 23, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    so… how did it go? I was a runner years ago and then I just burned out and realized that I didn’t enjoy it. Now I walk and hike and that suits me fine although the intervals that you are doing are really optimal for fitness.

  2. April 24, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Hi Tammy! The race was great. I walk/ran it 41 minutes. It was much tougher than I thought, but I completed it and it felt great!


Leave a Reply

